One Year Anniversary…

As we pass the one year mark since leaving New York and I’ve been reflecting a lot on what I’ve learned and how my perceptionĀ has changed over the past year…

We’ve been away from friends and family for way too long… it’s hard being away from everyone you love. It’s hard not knowing anyone in the place you end up and it’s even harder when you find that you have met people and still don’t seem to connect with anyone. I’ve met lots of great people here and I’ve met and been taken advantage of by some real pieces of shit. But no one here has that feeling of home and while it’s nice to meet people and not have a past, sometimes you find yourself wanting to just scream “Don’t you all know me yet!?”

Being away from family is the hardest… we have a grandson and daughter back home whom we haven’t seen in a year at this point and it truly breaks my heart. Watching him grow up via Social Media is surely beneficial but I want nothing more than to squeeze him and kiss him.. and I just can’t do that via Facebook šŸ˜¦ Soon we’ll be together again and I can only hope that my heart can handle walking away from them again…

 

 

